facebook_16 twitter_16



The Romance Reader Awards began in 2011 with two awards, the Best Romantic Read and Best Historical Read, which were awarded at the Festival of Romance reader convention. At the same event a New Talent Award was given to a writer not yet commercially published.


The following year three more awards were added to recognise changing reading and publishing habits: Best Short Romance, Best Romantic Ebook and Best Author Published Romance.

Best Romantic Read

Best Historical Read

Best Short Romance

Best Romantic Ebook

Best Author Published Romance

The Awards are open to submissions from both authors and publishers and are judged by readers who may not be authors or have any connection to publishing or bookselling. The exception is the New Talent Award which is judged by industry professionals and designed to shine a spotlight on the authors of tomorrow.


Now in their fifth year in 2015 the Awards will be given out at their own ceremony, a gala party in London on Wednesday 18th November.

New Talent Award

2014: One Step Closer to You by Alice Peterson (Quercus)

2013: A Cornish Affair by Liz Fenwick (Orion)

2012: Dearest Rose by Rowan Coleman (Ebury)

2011: Love and Freedom by Sue Moorcroft (Choc Lit)



2014: The Dress Thief by Natalie Meg Evans (Quercus)

2013: The Spice Merchant's Wife by Charlotte Betts (Piatkus)

2012: The Silent Touch of Shadows by Christina Courtenay (Choc Lit)

2011: Perhaps Tomorrow by Jean Fullerton (Orion)

2014: Caroline Rayner (runners up: Emily Kerr and Catherine Meadows)

2013: Lucie Wheeler (runner up: Bella Osborne)

2012: Lesley Eames (runners up: Sue Jackson and Cathy Lennon)

2011: Henriette Gyland (runners up: Sarah Callejo, Rosemary Dun and Debbie White)

2014: Taming Her Italian Boss by Fiona Harper (Mills & Boon)

2013: The Rebound Guy by Fiona Harper (Mills & Boon)

2012: Dancing with Danger by Fiona Harper (Mills & Boon)

2014: The Oyster Catcher by Jo Thomas (Accent Press)

2013: Beyond Grace's Rainbow by Carmel Harrington (Harper Impulse)

2012: Miranda's Mount by Phillipa Ashley (Piatkus Entice)

2014: Christmas Yves by Nicola May

2013: No One Ever Has Sex on a Tuesday by Tracy Bloom

2012: The School Gates by Nicola May